Click below to view inside this title:

Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, the Czech Republic, and Slovakia


Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, the Czech Republic, and Slovakia share a remarkably similar trajectory on their individual paths to becoming the nations they are today. Each had ties to the Roman, Byzantine, and Ottoman empires in earlier times, all became Eastern-bloc countries in the 20th century, and all successfully emerged from Communist rule in the late 20th and early 21st centuries. These multi-layered lands, where folk traditions still exist alongside the hallmarks of modern life and the remnants of communist rule, are the subjects of this sweeping tome.

Series: The Britannica Guide to Countries of the European Union

Interest Level: Grades 9-12

Guided Reading Level: Z

Lexile Level: 1250

ISBN: 99781615309870 (E-book)

Copyright: ©2014

Pages: 384

*E-book price, single use is for online use only for one user (North America only).

Britannica’s e-books are available for purchase from most e-book platform providers, including Overdrive, Follett, Gale, Mackin, ProQuest, and EBSCO. To purchase single or unlimited use of this title for your school or library, please contact the provider of the e-book platform you are using, or contact Britannica at 800-621-3900/e-mail: